International Summer School on Ancient Drama

Theme (2018): City and the Citizen

CYCLE A: July 2- 16, 2018
CYCLE B: July 18- August 1, 2018



Open air spaces, close to Epidaurus’s surrounding nature, will be used for the workshops in order to liberate the teaching process from a customary indoors practice, thus enhancing educational benefits and the students’ experience and theatre practice.


Epidaurus Lyceum teachers and students are hosted in selected hotels located near Ancient Epidaurus. 

An eco – friendly camp of 25,000 m2, allocated by the municipality of Epidaurus at a space just 1,5 km from the archaeological site of Epidaurus is currently under construction. Build for the teaching and accommodating needs of the Epidaurus Lyceum it will host students, teachers and visitors of the Lyceum in the years to come.


As in 2017 specially arranged spaces at the Lygourio High School as well as cultural centres, church yards and other venues in Epidaurus will be used.

Workshops and presentations are scheduled to take place at archaeological sites. In 2017, the Ephorate of Antiquities of Argolis granted the Lyceum, for educational purposes, the use of:

The Ancient Theatre of Epidaurus

The Ancient Stadium of the Sanctuary of Asclepios


The Lyceum is scheduled to start at the same time as the Epidaurus performances of the Athens & Epidaurus Festival, in order for both institutions to become supplementary to one another, enabling them to share experiences (attending performances, meeting with theatre groups, lectures, attending rehearsals etc.)


15 days – 170 teaching hours

In 2018 two cycles of the programme are scheduled to take place. Cycle A: 2-16 July, Cycle B: July 18- August 1.

Important Note: The Epidaurus Lyceum programme commences in Epidaurus (Lygourio) at noon, on the first day of each designated cycle and concludes at noon on the last day of each cycle. Travelling from Athens to Epidaurus (Lygourio) takes approximately 2,5 hours.


Certificates will be given to all the participants who fulfilled the requirements of the programme.

Accreditation will be provided by the Department of Theatre Studies, Faculty of Fine Arts of the University of the Peloponnese with ECTS credits. Foreign institutions should come to an agreement with the University of the Peloponnese in order to secure the transfer of these ECTS credits.


Workshops, lectures and seminars will take place in English.

Optional interpretation from teacher’s mother tongue to English will also be available. 

Courses on Greek speech and phonetics focusing on the Greek culture, its language and continuity might be held in Greek, with the assistance of an interpreter which will guide foreign students during all exercises.


There are varying fees, based on the GDP per capita of the applicant’s country of residence, in accordance with the best international practice. Countries are divided in 3 bands:

  • Band Α: 1000 EUR (GDP per capita in US Dollars > 25,000)

  • Band Β: 800 EUR (GDP per capita in US Dollars between 10,001 – 25,000)

  • Band C: 600 EUR (GDP per capita in US Dollars <10,000)

Participation costs include: Educational activities, accommodation, food (breakfast and one more meal per day), visits, attending Festival performances for the duration of the seminars and other artistic events.

If you can’t find your country of residence below or have other relevant queries regarding methods of payment, etc. please contact the Epidaurus Lyceum team: lyceumepidaurus@greekfestival.gr

BAND A countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan,  Kuwait, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Qatar, South Korea, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, USA and others.

BAND B  countries: Argentina, Bahrain, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Puerto Rico, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Uruguay, Venezuela and others

BAND C countries: Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Egypt, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Mexico, Moldova,  Montenegro, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, State of Palestine, Philippines, Romania, Russia, Serbia, South Africa, Syria, FYROM, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Tanzania, Ukraine, Vietnam  and others

(The classification is based on the latest GDP per capita in US dollars data for these countries as they are published by the United Nations Statistics division (https://unstats.un.org/unsd/snaama/dnllist.asp)