Fête de la Musique 2019-05-24T11:48:14+00:00

ERT National Symphony Orchestra - Anastasios Symeonidis

Fête de la Musique
Works by Skalkottas and Mendelssohn

On the occasion of the ‘2019 Skalkottas Year’ (this year marks the 70-year anniversary since the death of Nikos Skalkottas), the ERT National Symphony Orchestra will pay tribute to the great Greek composer, performing the ballet The Sea, a series of tableaux vivants drawn from the marine world, revolving around fantasy elements or the phantasmagoria of ballet dancing, as well as marine traditions, common in folk tales. The music could be considered an example of symphonic suite.

The concert will also include two of Mendelssohn’s major works, also sea-themed, inspired from his travels in Scotland in 1829: The Hebrides Overture and The Scottish Symphony, with the former depicting the Staffa island and its enormous cave. The work brings to mind the sounds of the sea and the different phases of the sea, from calm to tempest.



Overture The Hebrides (Fingal's Cave) in B minor, Op. 26



Concerto No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra in G minor, Op. 16

Andantino - Allegretto

Scherzo: Vivace

Intermezzo: Allegro moderato

Finale: Allegro tempestoso

Vassilis Varvaresos piano





The sea, folk ballet

Overture Ι On the beach Ι Dance of the waves Ι The trawl Ι The little fish Ι The dolphins (Phantasmagorical dance) Ι Nocturnal (Peace) Ι Preparation of the Mermaid Ι The Dance of the Mermaid Ι From the folk tale of Alexander the Great Ι Finale. Hymn to sea

Soloist: Vassilis Varvaresos

2nd part
Nikos Skalkottas: The sea, Folk ballet

Conductor: Anastasios Symeonidis