Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg – Yuja Wang – Gustavo Gimeno
Works by Tchaikovsky, Gershwin, Shostakovich, Stravinsky

The Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg was founded in 1933 and currently consists of 98 musicians from over 20 countries. Having won numerous awards over the years (Grammy Award, Grand Prix Charles Cros, Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik, BBC Music Choice, Diapason d’Or, Choc du Monde de la Musique), the Orchestra remains a major cultural institution in Luxembourg, giving concerts all over Europe, Asia, and the Americas, while also being active in educational projects aimed to children and youths, as well as performing at schools and hospitals. The orchestra’s repertoire has been expanded under the incumbent musical director Gustavo Gimeno, currently serving his fourth term.

The acclaimed pianist Yuja Wang has been appointed artist in residence at the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg for the season 2018-2019. Wang rose to fame in 2007, when she replaced Martha Argerich at the Boston Symphony Orchestra and went on to captivate audiences with her virtuosity and her riveting performing style. The collaboration between the Orchestra and Wang will open this year’s classical programme at the Athens Festival.

The programme includes Tchaikovsky’s The Tempest and Fantasy-Overture op. 18 F minor (1873) and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue in the first part, and Shostakovich’s Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 (F major op. 102) and Stravinsky’s The Firebird – Suite (1919). The concert forms part of the Konzertdirektion Schmid tour.



Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

The Tempest, Symphonic Fantasia after Shakespeare, Op. 18 (1873)

Andante con moto — Allegro moderato


George Gershwin (1898-1937)

Rhapsody in Blue




Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 (F major op. 102)





Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

The Firebird, suite

Introduction – The Firebird and its dance – The Firebird's variation

The Princesses’ Khorovod (Rondo, round dance)

Infernal dance of King Kashchei

Berceuse (Lullaby)