Wiener Symphoniker – Leonidas Kavakos
Works by Mendelssohn, Mozart, Beethoven

Classical music fans can look forward to a unique experience on June 22. The Wiener Symphoniker (Vienna Symphony Orchestra), joins forces with the acclaimed violinist and conductor Leonidas Kavakos on the stage of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus.

The Wiener Symphoniker is one of the leading orchestras in the world. Founded in 1900, the Orchestra has collaborated with legendary musicians, including Wilhelm Furtwängler, Herbert von Karajan, Georges Prêtre, and Vladimir Fedosejev. The Orchestra last performed at the Odeon back in 1967, under the baton of Wolfgang Sawallisch.

Leonidas Kavakos made his concert debut at the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in 1984, along with the ERT National Symphony Orchestra. Within the next few years, he went on to win numerous international awards which firmly established him among the top soloists in the world, including the International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition (1985) and the Paganini and Naumburg Competitions (1988). Kavakos has collaborated with the world’s greatest orchestras both as a soloist and as a conductor.

The concert programme includes Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor, Op. 64, Mozart’s Symphony No. 31 in D major KV 297 (Paris’) and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92.


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor, Op. 64

Allegro molto appassionato


Allegretto non troppo – Allegro molto vivace


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Symphony No. 31 in D major KV300a /297, (‘Paris’)

Allegro assai




Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

Poco sostenuto – Vivace



Allegro con brio